Dr. Suman Datta

University of Notre Dame

Suman Datta is the Stinson Chair Professor of Nanotechnology in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Indiana, where he is the Director of Nanoelectronic Devices and Circuits Laboratory. He is also the Director of the SRC/DARPA sponsored $40M Applications and Systems-driven Center for Energy-efficient integrated NanoTechnologies (ASCENT). In addition, he is the Director of the SRC/NSF sponsored Center for Extremely Energy Efficient Collective Electronics (EXCEL). His research focuses on semiconductor science and technology that improves and enables existing and new compute models. Prof. Datta has co-authored 9 book chapters and over 380 refereed journal and conference papers, and holds 185 US patents. His work has received over 24,500 citations (h-index = 81).

Dr. Datta received his bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India, and his PhD degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from University of Cincinnati, Ohio. From 1999 till 2007, he was with the Advanced Transistor Group at Intel Corporation, Hillsboro, where he pioneered multiple generations of high-performance logic transistor technologies such as strained silicon, high-k/metal gate, Tri-gate and non-silicon transistors. He was a Professor of Electrical Engineering at The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, from 2007 till 2015, where he led research in quantum-well transistors, inter-band tunnel transistors, metal-insulator-semiconductor tunnel contacts, and selectors for cross-point memory applications. He is a recipient of the Intel Logic Technology Quality Award (2002), the Intel Achievement Award (2003), the Penn State Engineering Alumni Association (PSEAS) Outstanding Research Award (2012), the SEMI Award for North America (2012), the PSEAS Premier Research Award (2015), IEEE Device Research Conference Best Paper Award (2010, 2011), IEEE VLSI Technology Symposium Best Paper Award (2020). He is a Fellow of IEEE and the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).